Double Chocolate Brownie Torte with Butterscotch Ganache

Since Brent was out of town this last weekend, my sister came over on Saturday for a sister date at my house.
As mentioned in the previous post, we are both brownie lovers. 
Extreme brownie lovers.
So I decided to make a Double Chocolate Brownie Torte with Butterscotch Ganache.
This was so good, it hurt a little bit.
Ya know what else hurts a little bit? Pavement. Pavement hurts a little bit.
Why do I know this?
Because yesterday, I was walking my sweet giant little 14 month old golden retriever, Nova.
While walking him, I looked down at my phone to check an email in the exact moment that Nova saw a squirrel.
Nova went for it.
Before I knew it, I was SUPERMANNING through the air and proceeded to be dragged by my sweet little punkin head down the oh so lovely pavement road.
It’s ok, It’s ok. It was nothing a Double Chocolate Brownie Torte with Butterscotch Ganache and a heaping scoop of vanilla ice cream couldn’t fix.
Later on, however, I did have a bit of anxiety that someone was filming me and I would end up on YouTube, like this lady.
It wouldn’t surprise me. I.FLEW.
Now, I made a little bit more butterscotch ganache than I needed. 
So what do you do when you have more butterscotch ganache than you actually need?
You close your eyes and keep pouring.

Oopsies.

The thought of not using all of this right then and there was inconceivablish…

I told you, I just can’t be trusted. Don’t be like me.
Unless you like delicious things…then be like me.

So whether or not you get dragged by your 90 lb baby-triever down a lovely paved road today, you should still make this.
Double Chocolate Brownie Torte
Ingredients:
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs, room temp
  • 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened dark cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips (semi sweet will work too)
Directions:
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Grease and flour an 8-inch cake pan.
  3. Mix together butter, sugar, and vanilla in a large bowl.
  4. Beat in eggs, one at a time, until mixed thoroughly.
  5. In a separate medium bowl, sift together flour, cocoa powder, and salt.
  6. Gradually stir flour mixture into butter mixture until barely combined.
  7. Fold in chocolate chips.
  8. Pour into pan and bake for 20-25 minutes. You will want the center to still be a little bit gooey.
  9. Cool for 10 minutes in pan.
  10. Remove from pan, place on a large serving platter, and pour warm Butterscotch Ganache over the top.
Butterscotch Ganache

Ingredients:
  • 6 oz butterscotch chips
  • 6 Tbsp heavy whipping cream
  • 3 Tbsp unsalted butter
Directions:
  1. In a small saucepan, heat cream and butter over medium heat until just before the boiling stage.
  2. Place butterscotch morsels in a heat resistant bowl and pour hot cream/butter over morsels.
  3. Let sit for 15 seconds, then stir until smooth.
  4. Pour over torte.
Serve with ice cream!

Leave a comment